Who's CMAK is the prettiest?

GDog

I've had CMAK for about 3-4 weeks now. I am just beginning to explore the vast number of mods out there to enhance the look and feel of the game.

If anyone cares to indulge me, I would like to see screen shots of your modded versions of CMAK to see what is possible.

So far I have only loaded a terrain grid mod, which is quite helpful but does NOT pretty the game up much! ;) Next on my list is a modded interface, I think the name of a nice one is "Tarkus Dark Steel", but that may have been for CMBB.

Cheers!

Pretty is not something that one really wants to try for when modding. War isn't pretty.

That said, if you want to see what one modded version of CMAK looks like, take a look at the images in the Postcards for Italy thread. I'm too low tech to be able to provide you with the link, but if you do a search in the CMAK section of the forum you'll find it about two months back.

It has a fair number of screenshots of ungridded winter terrain. And if you look closely you may even spot a couple of very rare mods.

Originally posted by Philippe:

Pretty is not something that one really wants to try for when modding. War isn't pretty.

Heh heh.

Sorry Philippe, my use of the word "prettiest" (which was actually the first time ever typing that word on a keyboard ;) ) was an attempt to make you all smile.

You could substitute it for say "realistic", "authentic" or "awsome"! After all CM does recreate "realistic and authentically awsome" WWII action! I think it says that on the box, and if it doesn't it should. :D

People with taste consider high-contrast gridded terrain to be an aesthetic abomination. It most certainly is not pretty.

As to whether it is useful or not, that depends on your style of play. I'm sorry that BTS didn't make a grid overlay toggle switch: I might actually have switched it on and then back off once or twice at the beginning of each game.