"I a little disappointed…"

DaveWilson

I’m not here to ‘bad mouth’ TacOps or to say that it’s not worth the money. I played the demo first and it was an accurate representation of the final product. No one tried to fool me. I’m just saying the program did not ‘exceed’ my expectations.

I started playing board wargames 40 years ago and the computer variety in 1980 on my brand new Apple II with 48K of memory :rolleyes: I’m not an expert; just an experienced customer.

I think what I find most disappointing is the lack of ‘character’ in the troops. The units don’t have individual Experience, Training, Fatigue or Moral factors. It’s almost if they were Robots. If the above were include you could have a vast array of different types of troops from Delta Force to Militias.

I remember simulations where your troops would gain experience with each battle. I always thought that was a nice feature. You also had to spend ‘money’ to repair or replace lost equipment.

The second major problem is Command & Control. There are no Headquarters units that effect play in a positive or negative way. I don’t find this realistic.

Smaller problems are the Unit Box coming up over the Unit Icon. It should not be too difficult to have it place somewhere else on the screen. There’s plenty of room.

Finally (you knew this was coming) where did Opfor get the ‘Death Ray’ that keeps killing my M1A1’s with headon shots? :D

OTOH there are may features that I do like, so like I said, TacOps is not ‘Bad’, it just that it could be much better.

Feedback noted.

Nice to see that there are still people around that can be usefully critical without being insulting.

>where did Opfor get the ‘Death Ray’ that

>keeps killing my M1A1’s with headon shots?

If you mean tank vs tank then those shots are probably being assessed as striking at an angle great enough to count as "side" shots. TacOps is more liberal than some sims with awarding side shots.