Experimenting

Doh! I thought I'd be able to delete the original post. I was just trying to see if I could link screenshots with this site.

In case you're curious, I've been learning how to use GIMP to create the artwork for an upcoming campaign and that's the basic format I've arrived at today. It's still a WIP.  I expect screenshots of the new campaign and an announcement will follow shortly now that I know how it works.

This is the last substantial barrier to reworking my old CMSF campaigns - the artwork was terrible (done with MS Paint and Picture Manager) and has to be redone and I have to learn how to use GIMP to make new artwork for the missions.

Of course, it also allows me to make all new campaigns as well. 

I'm going all in with getting 'Gung Ho' ready for next month. This is my entire focus just now.

Looks okay to me. Is that a snow map? I haven't seen any of them in CMx2 ever.

I'm FAR from being anything other than a complete novice with GIMP. :D I can do the absolute basics: import layers, move them around, add opacity to a layer, etc and that's about as far as it goes right now. That's all I really need to do.

1 minute ago, Paper Tiger said:

Looks okay to me. Is that a snow map? I haven't seen any of them in CMx2 ever.

I'm FAR from being anything other than a complete novice with GIMP. :D I can do the absolute basics: import layers, move them around, add opacity to a layer, etc and that's about as far as it goes right now. That's all I really need to do.

I would make my maps black and white scenario is Snow for the Hungry F&R. Or I could copy the Style of CM Briefings. 

You really can't go far wrong copying the official CM artwork. It looks very slick. Or you can develop your own style: that's how I roll. I feel like I'm cheating copying somebody else and prefer to do it all myself but that's me. It helps that I enjoy learning to do new things too. Who knows if these skills will come in useful for some other aspect of my life?