Battlefront is now Slitherine ×

how does one assault a town?

hey all,

I'm fairly new to CMBN and am going through the campaign "The Road to Montebourg". I'm currently on the third mission, the first 2 gave me no end of trouble. I'm not proud of it but I restarted from a save midway through on each when things went south.

Now on the third mission, although it's small and I have a fairly sizable force I'm having issues when I get to the town. I can get to it without any casualties but once there it ends up being a gong show. I'll be taking fire from somewhere, don't know where, my guys are dying and I haven't spotted anything.

Near as I could figure out is having to go house to house and clearing them out one by one. But I can't figure out any way to lower my casualties since the only way to get anyone into a position to fire on any of the houses with enemies is to put them in a position where they would get fired on.. thus enhancing the blood shed. Plus, you never really know where they are until someone gets shot at, keeping me guessing as to safe avenues of approach.

I did finish it once already but only got a draw.. I had too many casualties. What am I missing in my tactics that would have allowed me to capture this little town?

For those wondering, this is an infantry only map, 3 onboard 60mm mortars, no artillery, 4 HMG.