Noob problem

Hi,

I just bought CMFI two weeks ago and despite the clunky controls I am really enjoying it so far. I really appreciate the degree of realism and the slow, tacticool gameplay.

Anyway I have a problem/complaint.

While I am new to the Combat Mission series I have some basic knowledge about infantry tactics and I am used to milsim games.

What really annoys me with Combat Mission is the fact that I seem to always have to attack against overwhelming odds. Most offensive missions I played have a force ratio of 1:1 or 1:1,5 in favor of the enemy and if that wasn't enough the enemy has most of the time several advantages. I will outline this a little bit:

I played the allied campaign "Troina" and while the first mission went rather succesfull the second mission was a nightmare.

I had to restart the mission after my first try to take the hill miserably failed.

The second attempt was a slight improvement...However, I am supposed to assault an entrenched, company sized enemy forced which is equipped with MGs and heavy guns with just two (or three) Infantry platoons and a platoon of totally useless halftracks. I mean these are not realistic odds, are they?

You would want to have a numeric superiority of 3:1 or even more.

So the mission was a pain, I had to advance superslow, calling in massive artillery strikes and cover every small advance with smoke. After more than an hour I was able to take the first line of defences with my infantry (artillery did the most killings while the infantry was limited to shoot some demoralized survivors).

In the end I almost ran out of time and out of artillery shells so I had to assault the peak rashly which led to high casualties.

The third mission seems to be of the same kind, you have to assault a well equipped enemy sitting on a hill top with just a weak infantry force.