Friendly Fire

i am new to CM, so i need some tips on "friendly fire".

i suppose AI take care not to kill fried units, but:

a) if one or two infantry squads or a machine gun teram are doing covering fire (command TARGET AREA) to a building or trenches to suppress the enemy, and the third squad is assaulting to conquer the building (command ASSAULT or FAST), should i worry of friendly fire ? or not ? If Yes, should i take steps to avoid it ?

B) the same question with tanks making covering fire, should i make micromanagement of the waypoints of the infantry squad assaulting or not ?

Mmmmm... I think that If you use light fire command (yellow line) with your infantry or your tanks, you will not have loses. Hight explosive ammunition will cause friendly loses, but if you use light fire command you will not have this problem.

Sorry if this have been fixed or I'm wrong Mr. Emrys...

So "Seamountanda" use light fire (yellow fire line order) and your troops will be more secure that with the fiere command (red line)order.

Hope that helps and sorry if I'm wron, but I think I read this on this forum! Sorry for not post too the messages! If anyone can verify this, tahnks!

Oh...I use this post too to ask for an AAR from the future Gustav Line, or new photos or somenthig...

Regards and have a good week end all of you sirs! ;-)

Explosives are always a danger (except breaching charges it seems) but bullets will only cause friendly casualties above a certain caliber. I don't remember exactly what it is at the moment though :D. Definitely heavier than anything you will find in a rifle squad.

^^^

The .50 cal. and other heavy machineguns will, at a minimum, cause suppression for friendly troops in/near the impact zone.

All other SMALL ARMS will NOT cause friendly casualties. * (Exception, below.)

All HE (high explosive) CAN and WILL cause friendly casualties.