Vanilla Scenarios - how do they work?

Hi There,

I'm fairly new to CMSF - been playing a couple of weeks. Great game. Basically, I want to learn some 'military tact' and apply it ingame, just to see how I shape up. As I've been playing the game and checking the forum, my knowledge has been gradually increasing. Have also read a few extracts from field manuals, which have helped. I now feel that, in a minor way, my knowledge has increased a bit - at least for a complete novice.

And so I keep returning to the first Brit scenario, in order to measure my progress. But here's the thing: each time I play the scenario my score gets worse! I started out as a rank beginner playing on Veteran and got a Major Victory with 2 KIA and a few wounded. Since then, I've gradually slipped to a Tactical Victory with 13 KIA! Maybe, in the first place, it was just 'Beginner's Luck'? Maybe I haven't actually learned much after all? Or maybe the scenario plays differently each time?

And so, I just wondered how the scenarios actually work? Do they play differently each time or not?

Also, on a broader point, I'd like to ask experienced players: are modded scenarios generally more difficult than the vanilla campaign scenarios? What general comparisons, if any, could be made here?

Thanks in advance for replies.

The scenarios typically have at least two differant AI Plans. This will not affect the enemy OOB, experience etc but it does affect how the enemy AI 'plays' the scenario i.e. how they attack, how they defend, differant fighting positions etc.

As to whether the standalone scenarios in the Brit module (or any module) for that matter are harder than the campaigns ones that a matter for conjecture. In the campiagns your mistakes or cannyness in preceding actions have a direct bearing on your OOB for the following actions. With standalones you have what you are told you are going to get.

Hope this helps :)

Hi George MC,