Good work Battlefront.

SGT_56M

Long time lurker, first time poster.

All in all, I am really enjoying the game. It has some minor issues, but I’m pleased with the responsiveness and effort on Battlefront’s part to get these issues resolved.

I had little doubt there would be any issues with the engine. IL-2 is a great game, and TOW is proving to be a nice adaptation of that engine.

There is a play style change that took some getting used to. I started playing with the old mindset of limited turns and therefore would charge into the battles assuming that there was limited time. But you know what they say about assuming. Once I slowed down and approached combat from a real world perspective (recon, movement to contact, bounding overwatch) the enjoyment level has gone through the roof without diminishing the level of challenge in play.

So far I have just been playing the allied campaign.

It’s the little details that have really grabbed me in this game. Sending out two privates to recon the forward position while the rest hold back or crawl forward has created some very exciting moments of play. I also greatly appreciate the moments of pure excitement such as on the Avalanche mission where my forward infantry squad on the reverse slope is attacked by the initial charge of tanks over the crest of the hill. Infantry were getting chewed up by the tanks. My AT soldier turns and is able to disable one tank at under 50m while his buddies are falling back. Before he can turn and withdraw, the supporting infantry started to overrun the position. I had him switch to grenades and perform a blocking maneuver. He got quite a few of them before he was finally killed. This has happened over and over on almost every battle so far.

I love the situation of my infantry positioned behind a wall and as enemy infantry approach on the other side, zooming in to watch both sides lobbing grenades over the wall. Boom boom boom! Then the Germans storming through the gate and mass chaos.