Looking for a quote

Wether it was Napoleon or von Moltke who originally said that no battle plan ever survives contact with the enemy is a subject of feud between the French and Germans. I note however that in the Encyclopedia Britannica, von Moltke wins. Hear hear.

Both being Gods of military Genious, it is frequently quoted. In his book, Guderian uses this very quote on the survivability of battleplans. Sepp Dietrich tried to use it but as usual fails - reading books wasn't his thing really and he is known to frequently misquote.

Being a former teacher, I am sure Rommel was very aware of the quote, and probably used it too. Seeing as he never made any detail plans, but rather made things up as he went along, I always assumed he had capitulated to the fact behind the quote, and decided not to make any battleplans. Perhaps he at some point had to explain himself, and used the quote then.

Cheerio

Dandelion

There's also a classical quote that means basically the same thing, but I can't rememeber the details of who and what. Perhaps some Latin or Greek scholar can help us out.

The sentiment is really a fundamental concept of military science, and it's been expressed in many different ways by many different strategists and theoreticians.

I do like von Moltke's version, though -- it has that wounderful German quality of being very concise and to the point.

Cheers,

YD

Originally posted by Michael Dorosh:

</font><blockquote>quote:</font><hr />Originally posted by Dandelion:

Sepp Dietrich tried to use it but as usual fails - reading books wasn't his thing really and he is known to frequently misquote.

Deitrich wrote a book!??! :confused: :eek: </font>

Originally posted by Michael Dorosh:

</font><blockquote>quote:</font><hr />Originally posted by Dandelion:

Sepp Dietrich tried to use it but as usual fails - reading books wasn't his thing really and he is known to frequently misquote.

Deitrich wrote a book!??! :confused: :eek: </font>