"Uncamo-ing" technique... ...Any tips Masters moders ?

Hi,

I'm actually trying to convert an original BMP file of the Jagdpanther. As you surelly know, this vehicle is camo'ed (tricolor) with a zimmerit texture.

How the %@## can you restore the vehicle to an unzimmerited - dunkelgelb appearence ?

I can copy/paste a yellow portion of the BMP and place it everywhere. Then my panzer looks uncammo'ed by still with zimmerit redface.gif

Please masters, have you any tips for this ? :confused:

Thank you in advance ! smile.gif

Bogdan,

Although I'm no expert artist, AFAIK, there is no way to completely remove the existing camouflage pattern from a BMP, let alone stripping off the zimmerit coating. Ideally, at least for the camouflage pattern, you'd be able to equalize the color and brightness of the image so that all the camouflage colors were equivalent and the pattern would disappear. It's just not possible in practice.

The closest that can be done is to clone a blank patch onto the other colors, but you end up with a very patch-work looking end result and preserving all the details is a major pain.

That's why most modders eventually transition to the "from scratch" mode of operation and start with a blank BMP and re-draw everything from hand. Of course one has to have a certain artistic capability to do so...

Gordon

I see... Then (correct me if I'm wrong), you can use a 256x256 BMP instead of the original 128x256 BMP file. The engine will resize the new file without problem ?

I have visited many websites about modding (Gautrek, Zimorodok) but didn't find many informations about scratch-moding in itself. Did anyone have explained this technique ?

Thanks for your answers smile.gif

You should have no problem with re-sizing the BMPs. For example, the side BMPS for my halftrack mod is twice as wide as the normal one but the same height, and it works just fine in-game.