Hull Down Trouble

Hello CM community, I'm new to the game and I just had a quick question: I'm playing CMBB and I'm doing the "Advanced Turtorial" as found in the back of the manual. I'm having trouble getting the assault guns into "hull down" positions. I'm doing exactly what the manual says, however.. I put the waypoints over the little crest of the hill, and on the way there they're supposed to "look" for a hull down position relative to any enemy. Well, either the SU's stop 30m before the crest even begins, or they go to the top, completely revealing their hulls. So, what am I doing wrong? and how do I know if they're hull-down? Only when I target an enemy and a "hull-down" line comes up?

Any help or advice would be appreciated. :cool:

The hulldown command in CMBB sucks. It is only reliable if you could inspect the terrain manually to ensure that there actually is a hulldown position. If you could do such a close inspection the command would not be required in first place.

Most players inspect the terrain manually and then use hunt to get into a spot which is likely to be hulldown. If you use hunt you have the extra safety that an enemy AT unit in sight will make your tank stop in hulldown (temporarily, but probably enough til next turn) even if you screw the plotting up.

I find an excellent trick to get in a good hulldown position is to: Firstly, use the hunt command upto jus behind the ridgeline,Secondly , use the "rotate" command to gauge how"hulldown"that position will be relative to were the hunt command ends(were ur tank will finish its movement) u can tell how hulldown the tank will be by the rotate command line contouring to the ridge, like it jus rises slightly upto the top of the ridge (case of Practice makes perfect)