Dust Animation with Arty Bombardment?

Hi

I was wondering if it is possible to add some dust animation when artillery shells land.

The crater holes popping up when the shells land seem a little undramatic to me.

I love the game's animation of a house when it collapses and dust kicks up for a turn or two. I wish arty shells would leave a little dust in the air after blowing up - it would look so cool in game.

Since there is already an explotion animation in game when the shells land on the ground, I would assume it would be technically possible to make a dust animation by just lengthening the animation of the explotion graphic. Although I am not a programmer, so I am not 100 pct certain.

Of course I understand the dust eye candy may be too much for lower-end machines, but perhaps it could be an optional toggle feature, just like the smoke graphics options in the game right now.

I think it would be also be great if there was a graphic for broken trees too, but I suppose that would have to wait for the next version of the game.

CMBB is a great game - thanks for listening Battlefront!

This may be heading towards a return to the great shoch wave debate. Back in CMBO explosions had a shock wave bubble. This was removed in CMBB for added realism. There has been considerable debate on the pros and cons of this and I believe that there is a MOD out there that will put them back. I know its not a nice graphical dust animation but it might go some way to achieving what you want. With the dust idea there would be added complications as the existance of such dust would be dependant on the ground conditions.

Just my 2c worth

Yes, I know a dust animation graphic may not be appropriate for very muddy and deep snow environmental conditions. But if there was a toggle option for it. You could manually turn it on and off for each scenario. Not ideal, but that is probably the only realistic way to implement it in CMBB.