Too close for comfort

I am relatively new to CM as a whole and I just make my first steps at complex battles.

In must scenarios, even if a fail I can see what I might have done wrong and how to improve in the future.

But the CM:FI "too close for comfort" scenario just leaves me dumbfounded. In this scenario you assault fortified allies positions whit a platoon of mountaineers and a handful of heavy weapons, and one infantry gun. now matter how many times I try this scenario I seem to fail miserably.

So I come to you the veterans, for a few point on how to tackle this battle properly. any pointer will be appreciated.

Alrighty, I will take the bait. :D

First of all, I am no tactical genius. But I have been around a while playing CM.

SOILERS AND SPOILERS

I approached/entered the trenches far on my left flank. I did this in conjunction with a delayed arrival area barrage. Getting the barrage set up on the first orders opportunity is very useful. After that, you MUST have line of site if you have no TRP's. But then plan on your first few turns to move that platoon HQ in so it DOES have LOS to the barrage area. Makes it accurater. Is that a word? 

Split your squads up into 2 teams so they move in smaller groups. SPREAD OUT!! Yes sarge...

I moved the HMGs up center leftish and rightish for overwatch and used the sniper as the probe sacrificial iron cross recipient who crossed the creek stream and got some spots.

Make note of your delay when the barrage will arrive. 30 minute battle. I think my barrage said it needed 9 minutes to get going. Keep checking this and everybody has ear comms like a SEAL TEAM. 

Get your guys over there but not too close. Demo charge dudes are back a bit until needed. Slow crawl up but then let them catch their breath.

IT WORKED!