Question: After Action Reports don't match the actual action (regarding objectives)

Hello there,

I am only getting into Combat Mission so bear with me. Recently, I have played one scenario and one campaign mission, both had a lot of touch and hold objectives. Both battles ended prematurely in my favor but both times I met fierce resistance and lost a lot of troops. And to make things worse, I still only managed to occupy/touch half of the objectives.

All the more surprised was I when both AARs told me that I had completed all objectives which resulted in a tacitcal victory and in the scenarios that went even worse even in a major victory. That felt somehow very wrong, and I felt a bit cheated. In no way was the title "major victory" justified.

So how comes it that failing to meet ground objectives still ends up being counted as having completed them all?

SPOILER alert: I will show AARs and the map without the fog of war. So if you still have to play the respective missions, be warned!

Pictures of the first mission of the vanilla US campaign of Black Sea:

CMBS US campaign Task Force Thunder Mission 1 AAR [imgur]

Pictures of the scenarios "Grieshof Meet and Greet" of Cold War:

CMCW Grieshof Meet and Greet AAR [imgur]

Edited by Sunbather

39 minutes ago, WimO said:

It means that your opponent was annihilated or completely demoralized and left the field to you.  All of the objectives are yours by default.

20 minutes ago, Vacillator said:

The images of your AARs appear to back this 👆 up as your opponents surrendered.

Thank you two for your fast response!

I've already guessed that the battle ended because of the enemy surrendering. And considering the mission in the US campaign, I can understand that.