Studienka - Russian for steamroller?

sburke

Told you I'd be revisiting this George once I had a little time. Either I hit a different AI plan or you tweaked it since testing. Damned Russians just rolled over me in West Studienka and are headed for the bridge. Last time I held them at the town and never gave up possession of any of the bridges. Nice change..well not so nice for my guys who USED to hold that end of town.

If you haven't taken this one for a spin I highly recommend it. I'd write more but don't want to spoil it for anyone.

I'm planning to play this beauty during the Eastern weekend. Looking forward to it. George's scenarios are always a treat. Whenever I can find the time I'm studying the map, so I know what can be expected. I'm a bit worried about all those lovely, vulnerable SPW's everywhere.

Yeah this time was totally different than my first play through. The AI plan is a lot more aggressive. My forces are holding now that my reinforcements are here, but getting a counterattack rolling has been difficult. The Russians have good overwatch positions and any attempt to go downslope usually ends in a flaming wreck.

No more spoilers, but a warning just so folks are not being misguided. This isn't just a major armor fight, the infantry close combat is every bit as if not more intense. In fact my first play through my favorite part was the hour I spent fighting through the East end of town house by house stalking the enemy tanks and SMG teams. great stuff.

• 4 weeks later...

*******SPOILER*********

And I thought it was German for sledgehammer...

Playing as Russians, things were going great until suddenly they weren't...probably 1/2 my tanks wiped out in a few turns, and as far as I can tell I've inflicted negligible losses on the arriving German tanks.

I'm down in the river valley, with the German tanks up above, don't see much hope for success.