Best Combat Mission game to start with?

robertiv

Hi all,

I'm new to Combat Mission (well, played an old demo years ago) and want to get one of the games. Any recommendations for which one to get first? This would be for primarily single player.

I've got no preferences on time period or nationalities - mostly just looking for compelling gameplay, at least somewhat challenging AI, and ideally a campaign that feels progressive (rather than just a series of isolated scenarios). With all the titles available it's hard for a noob to determine which ones are best.

Thanks in advance!

Greetings - Have you tried downloading any of the newer demos to get a feel for the multiple newer engined and featured CMs available now.

They are all up to v4 apart from CMFI (very soon to be updated) , and CMSF which while lagging behind is still very playable.

Wicky's advice is good. CM Battle for Normandy has the advantage of having two modules, a vehicle pack and a battle pack, so you would be getting a lot in one game. There are also a host of user-made scenarios, mods, and IIRC a bunch of maps made to be used in BN. But by all means, go where your inclinations take you. They're all good.

Michael

Aye, @robertiv if you haven't tried any of them at all, grab all the demos, and see which theater  grabs your attention (modern (BS)  vs WW2 to start.

If its WW2, you are so spoilt for choice!:

• BN plus modules is likely the best value for money. A fair bit of bocage fighting involved (but not limited to this)
  • Many players regard FI + modules to be the most different/interesting, because its not in your normal green/lush Western European landscape (instead, dry mountainous open Italian terrain), and has lots of odd vehicles and stuff
  • RT is the place if you lust after massive infantry and tank battles on the eastern front, with bodycounts to boot...