new to CMSF - two questions

Hi There,

I'm new to CMSF - been playing for a week or so. It's great - really impressed and hooked. I got two basic questions:

1. Is there a specific doctrine on deploying infantry? If you keep them mounted in vehicles and those vehicles get destroyed, then you lose manpower. If you dismount the infantry they usually get slotted in half a second. I realise that different scenarios call for different approaches, but was just wondering what the 'correct' military doctrine on this is?

2. Having bought the game and worked through the training scenario, I began playing with British Forces. I set the level to 'Veteran' and played the first two Brit scenarios. I scored major victories in each, with 2 KIA in the first scenario and 23 KIA plus 6 vehicles destroyed in the second scenario. As a newcomer - both to this specific game and to tactical games in general, I just wondered if this was a good performance or nothing special? I mean, do the missions get harder? I thought I'd try a modded scenario and installed Birdstrike's Paradise Road. This seemed quite a bit harder than the first two default scenarios mentioned above (couldn't finish Paradise Road because of technical troubles - probably need to update my graphics drivers). And so I just wanted to ask: is it better to play modded scenarios for a more challenging game? Or should I play through the whole Brit campaign first, in order to learn the ropes? Would welcome some feedback on this.

Finally, just a big thank you to the modders - I started installing various game-enhancing mods and they really make a difference.

Hi there!