Help for Complete Newbie

OldnSlow

I am a total newbie as far as military games are concerned. Have just purchased TOW and attempted to play the first battle of the Polish campaign with disastrous results. I have also competed all training successfully. Are there any campaigns or battles that ease you into the game without completely demoralising you? Or does one just keep trying?

Welcome!

If you're a complete newbie to military games, you will certainly have some learning curve ahead of you before you can master TOW. It can be a fairly unforgiving game in terms of tactics.

My suggestion to you would be to play the tutorial missions 2 or 3 times first, before you tackle the first campaign, because like you say, you might get demoralised. Try different approaches during the tutorials, pretty much ignoring the instructions, and simply see for yourself what works and what doesn't. Then, after 2 or 3 plays through the tutorials, you can start applying it to the campaign.

But - don't expect to win all the time. Unlike mass-market RTS games, TOW (and most of the other games we make) isn't artificially balanced for a "pleasant gaming experience" :) Meaning - you may be chewed to pieces by your opponent if he is able to exploit a hole in your tactics. Simply book this under "lesson learned" and try to approach things differently. The difference between the best TOW players out there and those that seem to get frustrated in the end is the ability and willingness to try out new things.

Martin

I had the same problem as you OldnSlow, at the beginning.

For the first mission of the Polish campaign, here are a few things that helped me to win the battle: