Vista?

Sure...but there are still some issues that needs fixing. I think you will be missing out on a graphical beauty layer or two, but from what I understand it should definitely be playable. I think even one of the devs are running it on a vista system.

//Salkin

Seriously try to hold your horses untill M$ atleast releases a SP1 to Vista. Untill that happens installing Vista is like asking for troubles. Sure it might work ok for some, but there are plenty of people out there whose systems are not so stable.

ps. Vista is a resource hog compared to XP so you should know that most games run worse with Vista than XP.

Do a search for recent posts by JaguarUSF; he's the one who pointed out the 8800 problems. He's also commented that the latest build fixed at least a good number of the problems.

I have no special knowledge or expertise, but I am also going to be shopping for a new system soon (though still a month or two for me), so I have been watching these issues closely. Based on what I've read, my personal SWAG is that players with NVidia 8800 and/or Vista 64 bit systems will probably be able to run the game right away, but probably will experience some annoying glitches and possibly even occasional crashes.

However, I would also expect that these problems will clear up over time, mostly as NVidia irons out the problems with the 8800 drivers, but also to a degree as BFC patches up the game. Ultimately, BFC is going to need to make sure the game runs, and runs well in Vista, if expects to keep sales up.

This doesn't necessarily mean I would *reccommend* getting Vista, or an 8800 card, though. Again, I am no expert and there are others here more qualified to comment on this, but I am leaning away from this combination myself. I have the luxury of waiting to see how things develop, though.

Cheers,

YD

Originally posted by mpkev31b:

hey dont know if this has benn covered before.. but is this game going to be able to run on a vista system?