Mods! Mods! Mods! Whats the best?

Hi, im new to CM. And I was wondering if I could get some help from you CM vets out their. I hear to get the best from CM I should Mod it up, I was hoping, that you could list for me, in order of Download, what are the best Mods to get the most out of CM.

Im as new as they come, so please try to be as detailed and informative as you can, such as file changes and what not, if I ever have to. I would really be grateful for this help, im looking forward to Modding up CM to make it look great. I have a high end computer so all if fine their. Just let me know what I should add, and what I should stay away from. Thank you.

Well I would suggest: Maguas Normandy woods and scattered trees, DDs tree bases, DDs water (or Tanks Alots) Gunslingers grass, gunnergoz's brush, DDs wheat, gunslingers pines, Maguas original buildings from CM outpost, Tigers dark brown marsh, I cant remember who made my rough, but it used to be on the now defunct Combat Missions. Hundreds of vehicle thingys...oh and Toms BOB winter mod is a must!

Give the guy a break! Damn!!!

Welcome aboard Volker.

There are so many mods out there it's hard to say which are the "best". It's all a matter of taste.

Mods are simply new .bmp's that over write the games originals with the new graphic.

I suggest that you just search through some of these sites and see what is available. Start d/ling and installing them. Open up CM and see what you like/dislike, simply go looking for new and better mods, it's an on going process.

Also BTS did not ship winter textures for ALL items but the modders soon worked out how to do that. So you can d/l things like "Winterised stone walls" with snow etc and they will only show up in the "Winter scenarios" etc...

I would suggest you check out these sites for mods.

Cmbat Mission HQ

Has lots of mods, the MDMP (Mad Dog Mod Packs) located on the 5th link down the left hand side has LOTS of mods all in one and may be a good place to start.