German vs Allied Armored Cars and 1/2 trks

German armored cars and and 1/2 tracks generally get a lot of praise for being innovative and advanced. But in CMAK play it seems to me that the emphasis on specialized designs over utility and transport ability seems to put them at a disadvantage. I seem to be able to do much more damage with universal carriers by being able to move infantry around than with say a puma. It seems that whenever an AC pokes its head out it ends up either popped by a gun, capped by an anti-tank rifle or brewed up by a tank.

Extrapolating to a strategic level: Does anyone think that perhaps the Germans wasted resources on so many fancy designs when they may have been better off with a truck and a MG? Cheaper and more felxible than a sausage shaped vehicle with a steering wheel on both ends. (Hans didn't know if he was coming or going! :eek: )

All this being said I admit I am by no means an expert on the uses of AFV's and the like and welcome anybody to school me on the proper use of these vehicles in CMAK and their real world histories

CM is not really that great a testing ground for AC usage. Check the "Humber, Daimler...etc." thread for more information on how ACs were actually used. CM is more devoted to actual firefights as part of larger battles. These would have occurred for the most part after the reconnaisance for which the ACs were created. They would not normally be present for this kind of fighting. They were never really intended for heavy fighting, but to observe and report. Consequently, they tend for the most part to be lightly armed, mostly just for their self-protection against small and lightly armed opposition. The Germans did create a few more heavily-armed cars for specific tactical reasons, but other than the short-barreled 75s for support, those are generally viewed as mistakes and not many were made.

Michael