Whats wrong with my WASP?

I've just recently started playing online. I'm a vet of about ten battles. I've never played as the Brits or Canucks until now. I'm playing a battle as the Canadians. I've had good success using German flame tracks so I figured I'd give the WASP a try.

I'm not impressed at all. In fact, I'm pi$$ed!

I have a few questions. Hopefully they're not stupid...but I'm asking anyway.

I had a platoon fighting off a German platoon in a copse of trees. He was also rushing another couple of squads across a field and into the fight. The combatants were separated enough that I figured I could move my WASP up around the copse and put the flame to his tail end & advancing troups. I was pretty certain that he didn't have any AT threats close enought to put the WASP in danger, otherwise I'd have never ordered him up. There were another couple of German platoons advancing across a field about 150-200 yards away. I figured he'd take fire from them...but not enough to knock him out or dissuade him from his orders.

Well, I gave him a Move-Hunt-Reverse order. (I may not have given the "hunt"...not sure it was available...but it's what I wanted him to do.) I figured he would move around the corner...advance about ten yards...aquire teh OBVIOUS targets...fire em up...then reverse. That didn't happen. What happened was, he moved up...waved at all the Germans...and backed off. Never fired a shot. He took fire but wasn't shocked. He just did NOTHING.

So, I was pretty pissed about that. My platoon was nearly dead. I figured I'd give the idiot WASP a clear order to fire. Maybe the Move-Reverse order screwed him up. This time I rolled him around the copse and pointed him straight at the dozens of Germans who now inhabited the trees just thirty yards ahead. So I rolled him around there. He came under some intense fire...but he never returned any. About halfway into the turn he got "shocked" and backed away.