On CM's graphics -> CM2 etc.

I'm reposting this from a previous thread because I think it bears a thread all itself. I'm not a graphics programmer, BTW, just an artist.

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>quote:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Originally posted by Juardis:

One word of advice, invest some of that money in upgraded graphics for CM2. That, and lack of TCP/IP, seem to be the number one complaints in these reviews. If you do not update the graphics for CM2, then you will get dinged hard. I can see it now, "much like the first game using the now dated graphics...." Note: I'm not saying the graphics in CM1 are bad, I love them and think they're great. I'm just projecting into the future.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

My roommate who is a programmer at Relic (Homeworld) saw me playing this and said that one thing would change the look of CM dramatically, proper lighting. That is true, sez I. Everything in CM looks flat shaded. But let's just wish for dynamic lighting too, eh?

How about the terrain and models shaded from passing tracer fire, explosions, gunflares too! Wouldn't that be just dandy watching a nighttime firefight? LOL. I told him previously that I thought Homeworld should have a straight screensaver mode so that you can just leave it on and watch some of those beautiful space battles out of the corner of your eye. I'd do the same thing with Combat Mission. "What's that coming from your computer, dear?" "Oh, just a panzer battle."

Of course, any new lighting scheme (not talking about dynamic lighting) will add more to the engine needs. If you want to see totally advanced lighting in a game, I suggest you look at the demo trailer for Neverwinter Nights. OMG.

Everything else in the graphics is reasonable for the amount of units you see on the board. The soldier models, more animations, all of that is just candy IMO.