War In The East on sale at GOG.com

Think I'm missing something as it is my kind of thing, but... I bought it on Steam round about December 2019.  I have 109 minutes played 🤪😵

A big reason for sure is that I started playing CM a few months later and now I do little else (with odd excursions into Sniper Elite 3 and 4 - recently completed - and now 5 is out, waiting for a sale).

War in the East always intimated me abet with its grandiosity at a steep price😵 but I'm finding real enjoyment in 3 hours of play and in the middle of my 2nd turn LOL🤪, Taking little break from CM (Intensely waiting for the Final Blitzkrieg Add on ), but Always A CM Fan at heart. I Agree with you Sniper Elite series is a good one.

1 hour ago, Modernrocco said:

War in the East always intimated me abet with its grandiosity

There is that.  I used to play a lot of much smaller scale Talonsoft stuff (East Front etc.) but even that sometimes had 3 hour turns.

Think I should re-visit WITE though.

As for Sniper Elite, it's a 'little' unrealistic but great fun at times and makes a nice change every now and then. 

Give me a shout if you fancy a PBEM when the FB add-on comes out (or even something before).

War in the East is an epic grand strategy game. I've done quite a few of the grand campaigns, for both sides and different point targets.

Perhaps grand operational game is more accurate.

It's a great what-if generator, allowing the player to pursue alternate-history paths. I only wish the player could opt to set the starting state instead of being limited to the historical start. I'd love to see what I could do if I were to mass AGC south of the marshes for example.