Hi! everyone,

I'm a complete novice at this game. Last year, I bought the combat mission anthology as the customers at amazon.com gave good remarks about it. It is up to now - the summer time, I manage to have some time to play it. I picked the scenario: a battle at the zoo, and played as the German side. The AI asked me to set up first. However, I could not move the two Panzer IVGs, no matter what buttons I clicked. Then, I ordered the the two tanks to move through the woods towards the Reptile House and Aviary. However, the AI directed them to manoeuvre along the roads, ignoring my orders. Do the tanks could not penetrate woods? I wondered. Later, the tanks were ambushed and were destroyed, one of them was by flamethrower, while the other I was not sure.

"Some people cannot bow their heads in modesty, because they keep turning around to look at past achievements." Master Cheng Yen

Tanks cannot go through wood terrain. However they can go through "scattered trees". In some scenarios scattered trees are used to simulate wooded areas tanks can go drive through (although pretty slowly).

Flamethrowers can destroy tanks. Your second tank was possibly destroyed by an enemy unit it could not see or by an infantry squad in close assault.

To prevent those close assaults you should always keep some dismounted infantry in front of your tanks. Moreover infantry is much better at spotting enemy units, so you do not walk into a trap as easily as if you scout with your tanks.

You're welcome. BTW, forgot to say welcome to the forums and welcome to Combat Mission. Others are better at welcoming new members ;)