Strange Mac behavior after playing CM

That's right! The Hard Luck Kid rides again!

In the last few days I've begun to notice my Mac doing something odd and, to me, inexplicable. What it does is to lag in certain ways. If I try to scroll using the arrow keys, as in my browser on this board for instance, the page moves in a very jerky fashion. As I type, the letters appear after a delay. No problem with the mouse. Also, when shutting down or putting it to sleep, there is sometimes a long delay, as if it were quitting open programs, even though I have already carefully closed them all. All in all, it kind of acts as if I have some other processor-hungry app running in background...except that so far as I know I don't

Now the kicker is this: the problem only seems to appear after I've played CM for a while. Before I play it, everything is fine. After I play it, Boom! the problem appears (or so it has seemed so far; I'm still studying the matter). Putting the Mac to sleep and then waking it up does not effect the situation. Neither does a restart (something that otherwise seems to cure a number of problems at times). Only turning it completely off seems to do anything.

My system is the G4 733, about a year and a half old; 512MB RAM; 60GB drive; GeForce 4 Ti card with 128 MBVRAM.

Anybody ever hear of anything like this? Let's dialogue.

Michael

The problem might be memory or file related.... have you tried rebuilding the desktop lately? Its recommended that you do this once a month. TechTool lite (free) does a better job of doing this (rebuilding) then the usual command-option technique. I also use Speed Disk (via Norton Utilities) to defrag the HD and this I find to do wonders as far as restoring "speed".