The 25 lber Artillery

Fluf

Hi,

I read with interest a thread concerning the veracity of the representation of the 25 pounder field gun as represented in CM. Now I studied cello at university under Donald Whitton - then the principal cellist with the NAC - and we often discussed his experiences as a signaler with the 4th Royal Canadian Field Artillery. He highly recommended the book 'The Guns of Normandy' by George Blackburn, M.C. as "telling it the way it was". Mr.Whitton (known as "The Big D") to his students, was the signaller with FOO "Stevie" Stevenson at Woensdrecht, calling for the Victor target on top of their own position. He survived that living nightmare, amongst many others.

According to both these gents, the normal rate of fire for these guns was 3 rounds per minute per gun, or 5 rounds per minute per gun when "intense" fire was called. They were actually capable of 12 to 15 rounds per minute if they pushed it. The regiment of 24 guns was subdivided into 3 batterys of 8, and each battery into 2 troops of 4. Each troop of four guns had an FOO team, as did each battery, for a total of 9 FOO teams forward with the 3 battalions of an infantry brigade.

The CM representation of the smallest divisible unit of guns delivering fire at the normal rate seems entirely correct to me. This gives the player the flexibility to represent the use of these guns at any level desired from troop to division by the use of game FOOs in increments.