Any Problems upgrading to Windows ME?

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Chris Merchant:

All the reviews I read of ME said that it runs 3d games about the same or slower than 98 SE, but takes up heaps of extra HD space.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Lets see: the possibility of slower performance and the certainty of less HD space. I'm damned if I can figure out what the advantage is in going to ME.

------------------

"Arms are my ornaments, warfare my repose." - Don Quixote

The consensus is forming. I have been using it for 2 or 3 months now. It "seems" a little bit more stable, but sure does take up HD space. Worth the upgrade? Hmmm. I don't know. If I knew then what I know now, I probably would not have done it. But I deleted all the uninstall info, so now I can't just go back to 98SE. That recovery file was like 300+MB.

What I want to know is if I should go for Win2K. Is it faster? It is certainly smaller HD wise I am sure? But what are the problems it faces running games? Are the problems solvable (with proper drivers, etc.) or will the platform just not allow certain games to run?

We use ME at home and the office, and we've been very satisfied. We run every game known to man on our ME boxes and overall it's as fast and more stable than 98, in our experience (at Computer Games Magazine and Computer Games Online). Hard drive space isn't an issue because the smallest drives we use are 30GB, but I realize that could well be an issue for some folks.

The biggest thing we like about ME is that it's simply more convenient. The built-in support for zipped files, reorganized file display/folder system, and general stability are plusses.

For those of you who are either having problems with ME size wise, and would like to reduce the bloat, and who are also reasonably 'puter literate....checkout http://www.98lite.net