Problem solved

I've been posting freezing problems for the last several months. Thought I'd tried everything. Well, yesterday I bought a nice 19 inch .26 digital monitor. Started noticing how much faster internet pages loaded with my dsl so I thought I'd give the CM demo one more try. And it works. No more freezing. Who da thunk a monitor could cause those kinds of problems? Anyway I thought I'd post this in the hope it might help someone else.

your monitor has nothing to do with they system freezing... for the most part monitors are little more than dumb CRTs... 99% of the signal processing is done by your video card (the other 1% is things like margin, pin cushon, and other asthetics)...

Your video card for the most part doesn't care what its feeding... There is no reverse feedback (i.e, the signal goes from system to monitor, never in reverse)... the video card simply assumes that the monitor is working and capable of displaying whatever signal it send out...

Note - as far as I know this is the case for both crt's and Lcds... but I have yet to deal with many flatscreens so I'm not sure...

-EridanMan

[This message has been edited by Eridani (edited 03-17-2000).]

Easy...driver issue. If you right click on your desktop, you can go into properties of the video card, in there are the drivers for the monitor. My GUESS would be you had a problem with directx with the video card and monitor combination. Does it make sense? NO. Is it Microsoft? maybe...ask Charles about the nightmare of trying to program in directx.

rune

I have no clue on this one since the previous posts from Eridani & rune are what I would have guessed.