Defending against OPFOR in Task Force DeGoey

Jingo

While waiting for v4 to come out I downloaded the freeware of v1 and started playing the "Task Force DeGoey" mission. This is the one where you command a MEB taking out OPFOR forces guarding an underground nuclear weapons facility. You are supposed to hold it for 120 minutes to win the mission.

I took the fortified enemy base in about 45 minutes with, in my mind, significant casualties (hey I'm a newbie and a civie) and began to happily destroy stragglers to the south of the base. This is when I misread the mission briefing. It said that in three hours a division of enemy troops would come, but that this wasn't gamed by the scenerio. So I thought I was done and had to hold off against infantry elements for two hours, but they were a good 6 Kilometers off to the East and didn't have transportation.

It was then that I noticed some smoke being layed down by OPFOR artillery on the north road. Curious that. And then the sound of enemy tanks moving in a *large* convoy down the road. I luckily had about 10 Cobras in perfect position behind some hills with Hellfire missles and Rocketpods--- unfortunately, there just wasn't enough ammunition and supply was already critically low after restocking the big guns for my Abrahms. I took out a LOT of enemy vehicles before I ran out of ammo and was chased away by surface to air squads.

After that it was just a matter of time before I was overrun. I had over 300 men in the base and they virtually all got pinned down and cut to ribbons.