Since there's no printed map, could we please have graphical control measures?

Dear BTS and all you rabid and thoughtful CM types,

The more I play this incredible game, the more I miss having a military topographical map for battle planning. This is particularly true in larger battles, in which unit count is so high that it becomes frighteningly easy to get units dangerously intermingled. In the real world (where I used to be a military analyst) such problems are significantly reduced by such marvels as phase lines, assigned sectors, no fire zones, etc.--graphical control measures (GCM).

I fully appreciate that a "proper" map is asking way too much, but is there a way to give us a hot keyable tactical overlay, a sort of super Shift-P command? We can already show all fires and movement paths this way. What I'd like to see is a way to designate unit sectors, axes of advance and related military matters.

I think a simple tool to click and drop a line from here to there, a minimal freehand drawing tool, an eraser and perhaps a dozen or so tactical symbols (optional) would make planning and fighting the battles much easier. Implementing this would also enhance the game's immersiveness.

Instead of simply seeing the map, you might now get a scenario which showed objective goose eggs superimposed on the 3-D map. The briefing could be text and graphics. "Major, you are to attack on an axis of X with force Y in order to seize Objective Zebra NLT than 1400." Of course, we'd need a user settable game clock (in military time) to get the full effect.

I feel that this would go a long way toward eliminating the unfortunate Capture the Flag feel the game now has. I, for one, have repeatedly found it extremely perplexing and sometimes vexing to relate QB flag locations to any conceivable military rationale behind their positioning.