How do the Russians play similarly/differently in Black Sea compared to Cold War?

Simcoe

With all the discussion going on around Soviet tactics in the CW forum, I thought it might be interesting to compare and contrast the Russians in Black Sea.

It seems like artillery is around the same with small numbers of units that can call support making it necessary to focus on pre planned bombardments.

at the same time, the Russians don’t have the numbers to grind down an entire battalion on a breakthrough.

So many differences, and I'm only a newbie, but ...

- Russian tank forces in BS cant do what they do in CW - they can't attack 13 tanks line abreast line the CW training scenarios in front of undestroyed Javelins and Abrams and US artillery. 

- Russians in BS need more use of terrain to shield their forces, deploy ATGM screens, and try to maneuver to gain advantage, use their drones while destroying US's own.

- the whole pace of an attack is much slower in BS. 

Kriegsdorf in CW would be very difficult if it was updated to BS forces. 

33 minutes ago, THH149 said:

So many differences, and I'm only a newbie, but ...

- Russian tank forces in BS cant do what they do in CW - they can't attack 13 tanks line abreast line the CW training scenarios in front of undestroyed Javelins and Abrams and US artillery. 

- Russians in BS need more use of terrain to shield their forces, deploy ATGM screens, and try to maneuver to gain advantage, use their drones while destroying US's own.

- the whole pace of an attack is much slower in BS. 

Kriegsdorf in CW would be very difficult if it was updated to BS forces. 

Thank you for the reply! I played a bit of the first Russian campaign mission and found the same. It seems like they play very similar to all the other modern armies just with less flexible artillery.

How do they differ to other modern armies?

That's quite a layered question, with some curveballs thrown in, so bear with me:

Firstly, sourcing: