Someone clue me in how to use assault boats

I am playing a scenario using assault boats. Have to admit, in my memory, I don't ever remember using them and it shows. I landed a couple of platoons across a river and now want to get the boats back to pick up round two. But the move command is disabled? Not sure what is going on. Are they one time use? Are they "grounded" and maybe I have to push them back in to the water? I've already wasted a 60 second turn trying to get the damn things to work and can't afford to waste another. Any help appreciated.

GenSplatton,

I have little hands on experience with them, and it was with CMBO, but I do know that for them to move they must be crewed. Believe the capacity is something like a squad plus a team, so if you need to make more than one trip to move the troops, be sure to leave a team aboard. If not, one way trip!

Regards,

John Kettler

I am playing a scenario using assault boats. Have to admit, in my memory, I don't ever remember using them and it shows. I landed a couple of platoons across a river and now want to get the boats back to pick up round two.

Assault boats in CM are not coded for multiple lifts, a fact you will soon find out if you haven't already.

As mentioned, in order to move them they require a unit to be on board at all times, even though their own unit screen lists a crew.

The other thing is that they do not have a reverse option. This, coupled with the fact that the boats needs to be grounded in order to unload (units will not disembark when the boats is in the water) means the boats will have to first turn 180 degrees around while still on land before you can send them back to the far shore.

You will be lucky if you can complete the turn around / cross / embark / turn around again and cross again process in under 10 turns.

Assault boats in CM are not coded for multiple lifts, a fact you will soon find out if you haven't already.