Newbie question on mobilization

Hello all. I'm new to the Strategic Command series and am really enjoying my first encounter in the WW1 game! However, I am struggling to get my head around mobilization and was wondering if a more experienced player could help?

After reading the manual, I understand that mobilization is linked to belligerence and can therefore affect a country's ability to make the most of its MPPs, coupled with the industrial modifier. However, I am not clear how to establish how fully mobilized a particular country is, and whether or not its mobilization is increasing, and by how much? A country's mobilization rating does not seem to be the same as its belligerence rating, but I could be wrong (?)

I am also not 100% clear on what mobilization means in terms of its effects on production beyond the modification of MPPs. In the case of Russia, for instance, I am aware that at the start of the main campaign the country is still mobilizing. But I am not clear what the effects of this will be. For example will new units appear in a preassigned location and are they the same as the units already marked down as "in production" for Russia when the game begins?

In short, I'd be really grateful if someone could explain how mobilization starts and can be monitored in the game, and what its consequences are. Sorry if this is an easy one to answer, but for a new player experiencing the game for the first time, there's a lot to take on board!

Many thanks!

Hi Tiresias,

Glad to hear you are enjoying the game and to answer your question, each country has a Mobilization Value that reflects their current political leaning towards any particular side. Once it reaches 100% they are considered fully mobilized and can then declare war and in effect become 'belligerent' with another nation.