Veteran/Elite AI

So.. I ventured into Elite skill level after playing a few scenarios on Veteran.

I only have one problem with it. The friendly AI doesn't seem to shoot at anything that isn't fully identified. My units tend to just sit there while taking fire from a question mark. Is this normal? Am I making too much of a small thing?

What setting do you use?

It's normal, you are misreading what's happening to a degree.

Your units did spot something, but if that became a question mark then that means they aren't seeing it anymore. Because that's what a question mark, a contact that was lost. If your troops didn't fire at all it's probably because the contact was too short to respond too. If you think the enemy is still there, use area fire. That simulates firing at unseen targets. That's something the AI can't do.

I used to be playing everything in Elite, but the fiddly nature of not seeing your own units just ended pissing me off so I recently started playing in Veteran mode. There will be a change to the levels in V1.10

Yes, I understand the old contacts situation.

I was still confused by my units actually taking fire from a '?' or even multiple ones while they sit there or self-retreat instead of firing back. I realize the AI won't area fire on it's own but they do seem more responsive in returning fire on Veteran since enemies are identified faster.