Is allied tank rushing technique realistic?

I've only played the AI because I am still a beginner but I have three questions:

1) I normally succeed in rushing the German panzers when they turn away from my hidden tanks. Sometimes I even drive behind their lines and nail them in the rear (I had a Sherman do that to two Pan-thers recently). It is of course exiting to play this way but would the average GI even think of doing this when you think of their respect of the big German cats? I for one would fire smoke and run as fast as my Sherman could carry me and my crew. I would NEVER drive right at it and hope it wouldn't be able to move it's turrent fast enough to kill me before I finish it of with my peashooter of a 75 mm.

2) Why is it, that even when the AI knows I have several tanks at my disposal (I have already killed of two tanks in an ambush) it then seem to "forget" and drives the next couple of tanks to the exact same spot just to get the same treatment. I have the feeling a human opponent never would fall for that.

3) It seems too easy to trick the AI to shoot at a HT driving like a mad man and then rush your tank to the kill from the other side, and is it realistic for the crew of the HT to say "Sure, we will go die for you" and drive off in to certain death?

In other words does anyone have any historic proff that allied tanks really did rush German panzers?

Dr. Buhl

Re: 1) I can't speak with much historical authority, but afaik, when going against the later German tanks like Panthers and Tigers, it was common to gang up on them and take advantage of the better overall speed and turret traverse speed of the Shermans. Trying to flank enemy tanks and hit them from behind only makes sense, since a) they're less likely to spot you and react in time and B) the rear armor is the weakest (excluding top armor). Personally, if a tactic helps me win in CM, I don't care about its historical validity smile.gif

------------------