Video corruption after short time in 3D (GeForce4 Ti4200)

I'm a newb having some real trouble with CMBB v1.3, and would appreciate any suggestions you guys might have.

I've managed to play through a few smaller scenarios with this problem being manageable, but currently, in a 2700 point battle I am trying to wage, I can't seem to run CMBB more than a few minutes before the display blinks out into a grainy whitish color. Only a reboot can restore it.

Notably, the same problem occurs in both Win98SE and WinXP (I have a dual boot OS). I've tried:

1.)Changing video drivers (currently 45.23 in XP, and 30.82 in Win98)

2.) I updated all (other) drivers and bios's not more than 3 months ago.

3.) I've reduced ingame refresh rates as low as 72hz (at 1024x768 32 bit; way below max for my card and monitor).

4.) I'm pretty darn sure heat isn't an issue (I'm running totally non-oc'd in a well ventilated case; processor temp around 36 centigrade).

5.) Anti aliasing is manually set to off.

6.) I'm using fairly conservative bios settings (video fast writes off, memory timings tested with memtest-86, etc.). But I'm open to suggestions.

Right now my only idea is a possible correspondence between mouse movement and the crash's. But I'm reluctant to try something other than my Logitech Marble Mouse trackball unless somebody can specifically tell me there is a problem here.

Thanks for any tips,

Wildhack

----------------------------------------------

Athlon XP 1900 w/Microstar VIA KT333 chipset

512MB 333mhz DDR

Gainward GeForce Ti4200 w/64MB

Built in AC'97 audio

Viewsonic 19" A90f+ Ultrabright monitor

Perhaps your card is defective. If your colors are fading into a grainy, whitewash then it sounds like the RAMDAC within the GPU is having problems or some other analog device on the output of the RAMDAC is the culprit.