Safe way to seek hull down

As a newbie I was very confused by the Seek Hull Down (SHD) command - even though I had used hull down approaches in the CMBO demo w/o difficulty.

By following a thread in the main CMBB forum I finally understood what had been causing my confusion and frustration - I had been issuing SHD to points at which I was already in LOS and past hull down to. Though some interesting software refinements for future products were proposed by myself and other forum members it didn't really help me today...

HERE'S THE TIP:

Never issue SD directly when trying to crest a rise. Unless you want to dash into a gully or depression in order to achieve hull down issue an LOS command first, then when you've checked that the target spot is indeedout not vissible (or already hull down) then simply hit the "D" key and click. You'll switch to the SHD command w/o any uncertainty about the spot yo're going too.

Ever since I started using this SHD has worked predictably for me, completely avoiding any of the confusion and frustration I had when I started. If you've had trouble using the command before give this a shot!

Apologies if this is old news!

Do you have to be in LOS of sight for an enemy to use seek hull down, or can you do it at anytime anywhere on the map? I never use that command b/c well I just don't really understand it.

I am under the impression that you use it when you see an enemy tank and you want to get into a hull down position to engage it.

The "seek hull down" command tries to find a hull down position relative to the destination point of the command. Your vehicle will drive along the plotted movement path (behaving like it was using move) until it is hull down to the end point. If it doesn't find such a position it will continue all the way towards the end point of the order.

Dschugaschwili

The seek-hulldown command work on terrain, not enemies.