Does the stealth bonus really do anything?

Since I started playing CM I've gone to great lengths to put guns in command of HQ units with stealth bonuses. It is awful being fired on by an enemy gun and not knowing where it is, and I figured this is the kind of thing that is helped by the stealth bonus. For this reason I considered the stealth bonus even more important to guns than the morale bonus. Stupid me.

I just read the manual again and realised I was wrong. Firing guns being spotted has nothing to do with the stealth bonus. In one place the manual says the stealth bonus "...increases the chance of remaining unspotted in ambush and while sneaking." In another place it "...increases the chance of remaining unspotted while hiding." :confused:

I did some tests and sure enough firing guns are spotted the same with or without the bonus. Hiding guns are very rarely spotted without them firing first anyway, so keeping them in stealth bonus seems like a waste of time.

I then tried to do some tests with sneaking units with stealth vs sneaking units without stealth being spotted. I used 2 platoons sneaking towards hiding panzershrecks in scattered trees and again in woods. In both cases the platoons were spotted at the same time, though one had stealth +2 and the other had no bonus.

I've done a few other tests and found the stealth bonus to be largely a waste of time. I very rarely use the "ambush" command, and my hiding units are virtually never spotted without me choosing to unhide them or setting them targets. I have tested units under stealth and units not under stealth in a variety of identical situations in hotseat and can honestly see no real advantage.

So my question is, am I mad? Or do other players agree?

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic