use of infantry

hi-

not sure if this should be under tips and tricks, but since ive been playing cmbo rather than cmbb for the time being, thought id ask it here.

so ive been playing for a couple of months now and im kind of disgusted by the way i use infantry. ive settled into a rut and id like to get out of it.

my major question is regarding command range. ive become obsessed with keeping my infantry within range of their platoon hq, which i understand is advisable for many situations. what this results in though is a rather large target for mortar fire, and when something goes wrong, it usually goes pretty horribly wrong.

so im wondering - how often do most of you keep your squads in command range? what sort of formations do you use, if at all? do you allow terrain to dictate such things?

thanks-

joe

heya,

terrain dictates indeed.....terrain is one of the many "assets" that dictates the tactics and movements. Keep your men always in command of the HQ. Not only for the bonus of the HQ, under HQ command they will panic less, respond quicker to new orders (=decreases delay). And for the main reason: Keeping squads together concentrates firepower. And besides all other fancy and nifty tactics you can read at this forum concentration of firepower is still imho one of the most important issues.

On the matter of that keeping forces together makes a good arty/mortar target...well yes but then agan if terain dictates you should be hidden in woods/houses/tree area's etc and as long as you are hidden, the enemy can't see you and he can't target you. And trust me I never met an opponent who lays down "blind area fire", just to precious that arty smile.gif

gr

Screeny

hi -

thanks for the response. i know it sounds like an elementary question. im just convinced im doing something wrong. perhaps what im getting in is the proper way to go about reconnaisance.