CMX1 Combined Release

Since there is no unified thread for all CMX1 games, I am posting this here.

I think Battlefront is missing out on a good business opportunity to make some additional money from the CMX1 engine. I believe that if they did a combined release with all the units and terrain features from CMBO, CMBB and CMAK it would generate more than enough interest to cover their costs of making it.

No marketing would have to be done because the target audience is people who already play the games, and the vast majority of them would find out about it through web reviews, message boards, Battlefront's website and word of mouth. If they wanted to sweeten the pot a little, they could even add a few units, like early war French tanks, and/or fix little bugs like the turn rate of tracked vehicles.

I am no programmer, but it seems like this would be a fairly easy project that could be completed in a reasonable amount of time. And ,if Battlefront does not have the in-house resources for it, I'm sure they could find some programmers in the CM community who would do the job for a percentage of the sales.

I know Battlefront has long maintained that they are through with the CMX1 engine, but I find it hard to believe that any sound business man would turn down an opportunity to make money if a compelling business case can be made.

Now I don't want to get into a discussion of what features/units people would like to have added to such a combined edition of Combat Mission. What I am interested in is what people think about the basic idea. Any comments?

It was never meant to be although I'm sure many people would love the idea. In practice however I can see there would be a lot of work involved as well as expense for an old engine now superseded by CMX2/Shock Force.