* Rural Italian Building Mod WIP *

It's my first building mod! :eek: I decided to make something that was more representative of the rural buildings found in central and northern Italy. While the original CMAK art looks good in an town or city setting, I think the tall buildings look a little funny in a rural or small village environment. The building mod was built "from scratch" using photos of farmhouses from Umbria and Tuscany as models.

I'm not sure if I'm happy with it or not, especially when I look at the stuff Juju, MikeyD, and Tanks are doing. It does look way better in game. One of the things I'm wrestling with is what I call the "CM 3D Problem" (duh), where showing building features in a 3D/trompe l'oeil manner only really works from one viewing angle. I drew every element as if viewed straight-on so they look relatively decent from almost any angle. I don't know if this is the best way to go or not.

farmhouse.jpg

Anybody see any use for this? Should I keep working on them? If so I'll make two more buildings appropriate for the setting, as well as the necessary damaged and winter versions.

Building mods are always appreciated, often neglected because they are so difficult. I think the OSF buildings have popped up on more screens than Eichenbaum intended. Patboy even modded the mod.

Wacko's like me will always try to depict somewhere, sometime, not intended by BFC. The light colour stone with shutters is a nice change from the pastel stucco of CMAK and the dark colours of CMBB.

Keep going.

Originally posted by junk2drive:

Building mods are always appreciated, often neglected because they are so difficult. I think the OSF buildings have popped up on more screens than Eichenbaum intended. Patboy even modded the mod.

Wacko's like me will always try to depict somewhere, sometime, not intended by BFC. The light colour stone with shutters is a nice change from the pastel stucco of CMAK and the dark colours of CMBB.

Keep going.