PBS Documentary on the Ukraine

db_zero

Watched a PBS documentary on the conflict in the Ukraine that was on Netflix.  Never really understood the whold thing, but now that I know a little more all I can say is what a mess. Things have changed quite a bit since the documentary was made. I'd really like to see some more stuff that explains whats going on.

Edited by db_zero

I'm no expert on the matter, but from a laymans perspective I can't see the Russians/Putin ever granting the Ukraine independence. I don't see the US or West directly getting involved with air or boots on the ground and Putin knows this. I have doubts that arming the Ukranians with sophisticated weapons will make a difference in the end. It may make it more bloody for the Soviets, but they would just amp up the pressure.

Still it looks like some of the urban areas would be very difficult to take from determined defenders.

Edited by db_zero

I think today all we a bit too involved into situation. No media coverage is unbiased.

May be 10 year into the future we will get some answers.

I seldom even bother to listen to reports of ongoing conflicts. Even when the reporting is done with the best of intentions—and that is itself rare enough—the confusion and fog of war all combine to make it mostly meaningless as far as knowing what is really going on. You may get flashes of truth now and then and an astute follower of the news might be able to piece out a general outline of events, but a lot of what we "know" just isn't so. We are still learning things about WW II and that was ~75 years ago. Is it going to take us 75 years to know and understand what is happening in Ukraine right now?

Michael

What do you guys think about the geopolitical situation prior to the conflict?