Possible GOLD problem w/Naval Bombard

From my prior posts, I am just starting GOLD because I was incorrectly practicing on the nonGold version.

I am on turn 2 of the 1939 campaign and I just Naval Bombarded the heck out of Foochow with two BBs and two Cruisers.

1. No effect on Entrenchment and no noticeable affect on any factor of the Chinese unit.

2. My ships were hurt badly (each BB lost two).

3. Message that one or two MPPs had been affected.

I know I just started with Gold, but that HAS got to be wrong. I am not a programming, but I think the tinkering with the Entrenchment Reduction changes (from Tac) may be the culprit. But I could be dead wrong on the reason, I was just throwing that out there.

Well, in the WW1 game (I can't speak for Gold), the last patch upped the port defense value, and I think it is finally perfect. Before, ships in port were getting destroyed with little or no damage to the bombarder. Ports are supposed to represent safe havens for ships, well defended with big guns, minefields, etc., and dangerous to attack directly.

Thank you. I did not so much have a problem with damaging my BBs, I had a problem that the Entrenchment was unaffected. That is a game changer if you have an elaborate plan to capture something and you are willing to lose lots of MPPs (repair BBs) and you get no result.

Hello UFC Addict ^^ ,

- Seems you're following the same path as me more or less :) : I also had the "Foochow surprise" when attempting to hammer the chinese corps with my BBs big guns.

- Actually, naval shore bombardment works fine as well as bombing but they both have one issue: when attacking a tile ressource they attack the ressource first (hence the "MPPs lost message") so tactical damages are very reduced.