Why...........

mikewhol

I purchased this game when it first came out (to Support Battlefront). Never really played it until now (waiting on CM:N). Just to give you a little history, I am a noob at ToW.

In the third mission of the Allies campaign, I worked a Sherman to within 250m of a PaK40, that was busy shooting at my "Poor Bloody Infantry" (and chewing them up fairly well I might add), so my Sherman should have gotten a round off while the PaK crew rotated to face the Sherman. Nope, Sherman just sat there, in plain sight, AND DID NOTHING! The PaK40 very happily engaged the Sherman, FIRE, first shot missed. OK, now I am thinking the Sherman will fire (it had 13 seconds to engage from stop order to first PaK shot), IT DID NOTHING! PaK, FIRES, second shot misses again, whew! At this point I am yelling at the crew of the Sherman, "fire, you fools, fire"! IT JUST SITS THERE! PaK, FIRES, third shot hits the gun mantle and takes out the main gun! Now the crew will not respond to any order given (not that they seemed to respond to anything I ordered them to do), the idiots wont even bail out of the stricken tank!

What in the heck is going on "under the hood" to make this kind of thing a fairly COMMON experience in ToW??????

The accuracy of the PaK guns is awesome! I was very shocked that it missed the second shot! That dose not happen too often (they were under fire from one Inf squad and another half squad at the time all this took place, with no visible effect). 14 men firing from 200m, and they couldn't even suppress the damn thing! Gheesh! Something seems a little bit off here!

BTW I have all the updates, and JHS 1.3.5.

Mike

Sounds like they were panicking, since they didn't even bail out (or maybe they were already dead). It's difficult to say what went wrong, maybe the gunner couldn't target the gun because of some obstruction or Sherman was told to hold fire earlier.

Thanks for the reply Sneaksie. Panic sounds like what happened here.