Abyssinia

Ok...so I'm new at this type of game (having not played strategery since the cardboard version of Third Reich) and I'm getting absolutely nowhere trying to take Asmara. I simply can't decimate the Graziani HQ and thus can't reduce the Italian force. What's the best way to approach this?

This was perhaps one of the hardest nuts for me to crack in the Pact of Steel scenario. First I landed a corps from Rhodesia and used ships to knock out that fighter sitting on the coast of somalia. Then I pushed upwards from that town on the coast of somalia to start hitting the Graziani HQ from the south and used a tank and special forces unit (Australian) from the north to support the attack. I also used 2 tactical bombers to reduce that HQ.

The most vital key for me was to use a strategic bomber against that town to reduce supplies to zero so reinforcement was much more difficult for the Italians. Once the HQ is taken out then the rest of the nut was easy to crack. Also you should have HQs of your own to increase the supplies of the units you are using to attack these Italians. If you attack with units on low or no supplies then you will never do much damage to the Italians.

Ok...so I'm new at this type of game (having not played strategery since the cardboard version of Third Reich) and I'm getting absolutely nowhere trying to take Asmara. I simply can't decimate the Graziani HQ and thus can't reduce the Italian force. What's the best way to approach this?

I would SUggest to use The Indian Commando together with the British Tank in Egypt. this with a Tacbomber and the Carrier should work.

Attention: Better refrain from any Offensive Against Graziani, if the Front in El Alamein is under strong Assault.

In fact: ask yourself: what can they do down there? in best case they can take Djibuti Port. so if the situation is not optimal for allies, just hold a Corps in Khartoum and Nairobi to prevent Axis Travel towards these and wait for better times.