WW2 Infantry Tactics - Great Site

Hello all,

Been lurking for a bit, and this is my first time posting. I am more an ancient history guy, but have recently discovered CMx1, and have been developing a keen interest in WW2-era infantry tactics of all major nations involved. I am still getting my bearings, as the phalanxes give ways to the V-formations, and contubernia give way to squads, but I am getting there.

Anyways, I am sure this link has been posted in the past, although I have been unable to find it, I have found it of great help. True, it doesn't quote too many sources, but it is good for a beginner such as I.

http://www.bayonetstrength.150m.com/Tactics/infantry_tactics_of_world_war_tw.htm

Of particular interest of me have been the infantry tactics of rifle squads, platoons, and companies (those that apply most to CM).

Some quotes, concerning company level tactics:

The V shape provided the most popular method of handling the Rifle Company in the attack. Its logic was founded on the maxim that a reserve should always constitute at least one third of the force available.

Two Platoons would advance in parallel, the third held back in support. The lead Platoons would observe a boundary between themselves to prevent Squads becoming mixed up, but their commanders would still seek to maintain contact with their flank protection.

It was felt that this advance on a twin axis allowed the greatest flexibility. The two Platoons could offer each other mutual fire support, one covering while the second moved. Within the Platoons the tactics described in the previous segment would be enacted.

Concerning mortar platoons: