Factory Outlet battle-low FPS

Hello everyone, I'm new to CM games and so far I've been very impressed with CMSF. It's extremely addictive! No real performance issues at all apart from some CTDs early on caused by out of date video drivers (now upgraded). I usually run the game (V 1.01) at 1600x1200, elite level, with turn-based play. My options include improved 3d models, vsync and AA on and I have been averaging about 25-35 fps.

However, the Factory Outlet battle (playing Blue) brings my system to its knees; 7 fps when looking towards the factory. Reducing my graphics settings drastically brings it up to 8, still unplayable. The odd thing is looking towards my units in their deployment area I get 55 fps!

Looking at the balance of units in the scenario editor they don't look excessive compared with some of the other scenarios, so I'm wondering whether the minefields are having this effect. I was going to test this out by building a small scenario and see what effect adding mines has to my fps, but I would be interested to know what others think about this.

My system specs are as follows

P4 3.2 Ghz

Nvidia Geforce 6800 GT 256 Mb

1024 Mb DDR RAM

Windows XP SP2

To answer my own question, no it's not the minefields, so it could be the size of the map.

Has anyone else been able to play this scenario at a decent frame rate? It's completely unplayable for me at 7-8 fps. If I turn the map so I am looking across it I get over 50 fps but that's an awkward viewpoint to fight a battle from! Not sure what the point of very hardware-intensive scenarios like this is as most people won't be able to play them, but maybe it's something in my setup.

Any thoughts?

Percival

I have the same problem when looking towards the enemy buildings from a distance (in that mission). I thought it was the map, but now I'm not sure.