New Hybrid SC2 Counters

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie to this forum but have been playing SC for years.

First of all, I'd like to take my hat off Mr. Hubert for making such an intriguing game and his continued support.

Also, until I tried it myself, I never appreciated the work involved in making your own counters, so a big salute to all you modders too.

I’ve played PanzerBlitz for years and have a problem playing with counters unless I see a silhouette. smile.gif

I’ve completed a hybrid military/silhouette version for SC2 (boy, it’s a lot of work) and am currently working on updating to the SC2WaW counter set, but I have a problem. How would I be able to post these for everyone to use?

Before I get bombarded with criticism, I should state a few caveats.

Scale was my biggest problem. Wherever possible, I tried to maintain the scale of each class relative to each other. The big problem was the monster size of level 4 & 5 bombers relative to the fighters. The fighters would have no discernable shape, so the bombers have their own scale separate from the fighters and TAC bombers for WaW. Same applies to the ships.

You will also have to forgive me for exceeding the counter edges in some cases (i.e. those long barrelled 88s’ll get you every time)

I got tired of using the same old 4 engine & 6 engine bombers to represent upgrades and decided to accelerate the allied research curve results. If the Germans were testing flying wings in 1944, I see no reason why the Allies couldn’t be using 1950’s technology as the ultimate level 5 fighter. (e.g. F-86 Sabre) Ditto for the bombers.

My apologies to all you non-fellow Canadians for including the Avro Arrow (late 50s tech). I couldn’t resist. In any event, it’s a simple correction to cut and paste over any offending counter.

I’m also working on a more comprehensive counter set that would replace the existing 3-D version with more variations on the above 2d silhouette theme. (oh, and did I mention, It’s a lot of work!)