Quck Battle outcome - my first

I played my first Quick Battle last night (I’m a CM newbie) and just wanted to get some comments on my tactics, and better ways to deal with this sort of situation.

It was a combined arms, 750 point British attacking versus Germans defending a village, and once I had spent a while working out how to select forces within the points limit, I ended up with essentially an infantry force (2 vet platoons and 1 regular), with support from a 3 inch mortar, Vickers gun, a couple of veteran sharpshooters and a 25 pounder FO.

It was lucky that I didn’t choose any armour, because the resulting map was like a big bowl, with my forces on one side, pretty much in the open, while the Germans were perched in the village on the other side of the bowl and down to the bottom. The left and right flanks were similarly elevated, with the result that the Germans could pretty much see every move I made on the advance!

I decided to probe forward on both flanks with my sharpshooters to see what the Germans had I had actually intended to use this QB to practice reconn, but the layout didn’t really suit), follow that up with my veteran platoons and keep the regulars as a reserve, hidden in some scattered woods in the setup area.